Research Guides: Geographic Information Systems: INTRL-GA 1731

International Relations - Overview of Sources

Source: National Institute for Defense Studies

Mapping and GIS analysis can be a key component in studying conflict resolution strategies and preparing for your conflict resolution simulation. The resources in this guide are designed to help you discover data and design maps. Our class will work through the following tasks:

Find Information about recent refugee crises
Locate data on conflict and violence
Form data to integrate into ESRI StoryMaps

Scholarship and Information

Use these databases to find scholarship about the various stakeholders in the dispute between China and Japan.

International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center (ISCTRC) This link opens in a new window
International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center provides information on security and terrorism policy and analysis, including reports such as Stratfor Analysis, Stratfor Forecasts and Stratfor Geopolitical Diary.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database with full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study. Users can access articles, book chapters, images, videos, reviews, both from peer-reviewed and popular resources.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a source for theory and research in international affairs. It includes scholarship, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, case studies for teaching, and policy briefs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.

Data Sources for Conflict Resolution

Use these data sources to find tabular data about political risk and other indicators related to conflict.

Integrated Network for Societal Conflict Research (INSCR) Armed Conflict Datasets
This dataset is created to coordinate and integrate information resources produced and used by the Center for Systemic Peace.
Global Peace Index
A project by the Institute for Economics and Peace comprised of 23 indicators, ranging from a nation's level of military expenditure to its relations with neighbouring countries and level of respect for human rights.
Uppsala Conflict Data Program
The Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) has recorded ongoing violent conflicts since the 1970s. The data is becoming a standard in how conflicts are systematically defined and studied.
ICPSR (U of Michigan)
ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.
NYU Business Library - Country Information
NYU's portal for data sources pertaining to political economy and social risk for countries around the world.

Spatial Data Resources

Consult with these sources to find spatial data, which you can use to create maps

Harvard University Geospatial Library
The Open Geoportal library at Harvard allows you to find spatial data sets and download Shapefiles for geographic areas all over the world.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sage Data aggregates datasets sourced from reputable public and private organizations, such as OECD, China Data Online, the United Nations, and the U.S. Census. It covers topics across many subject areas, including education, population and income, industry, commerce, trade, housing and construction. Users can create custom extracts and download files in delimited, SAS, or shapefile formats.