Research Guides: Integrated Design &amp; Media: Design Research\Studies

Journals

Design Studies
Design Studies is a leading international academic journal focused on developing understanding of design processes. It studies design activity across all domains of application, including engineering and product design, architectural and urban design, computer artefacts and systems design.
Design and Culture
Design and Culture reflects the state of scholarship in the field of design and nurtures new or overlooked lines of inquiry that redefine our understanding of design. The editors invite design scholars and practitioners to think critically about social justice, exclusion, and privilege, and imagine the journal as a forum that can foster rich and provocative conversations across power-differentiated communities, geographic distance, and disciplinary divides.
Design Issues
Articles about the criticism, history and theory as they relate to the professions of design.
Publisher URL:
She Ji: The Journal of Design, Economics and Innovation
She Ji is a peer-reviewed, trans-disciplinary design journal. We focus on economics and innovation, design process, and design thinking in today's complex socio-technical environment. We are an open access journal with no fees.
International Journal of Design
Devoted to publishing research papers in all fields of design, including industrial design, visual communication design, interface design, animation and game design, architectural design, urban design, and other design related fields.
Journal of Design History
Journal of Design History is a leading journal in its field. It plays an active role in the development of design history (including the history of the crafts and applied arts), as well as contributing to the broader field of studies of visual and material culture. The journal includes a regular book reviews section and lists books received, and from time to time publishes special issues.
CoDesign: An International Journal of Cocreation in Design and the Arts
CoDesign is inclusive, encompassing collaborative, co-operative, participatory, socio-technical and community design. Research in any design domain that presents findings concerned specifically with collaboration elements is of relevance to the Journal.
Design Philosophy Papers
This journal has ceased (2018).

Design Philosophy Papers (DPP) exists to advance critical, philosophical engagement with design and ‘the world as designed’. It welcomes contributions from a variety of disciplines and a range of philosophical perspectives. It is particularly interested in issues such as sustainability, unsustainability, design ethics, design futures and intercultural design theory.
Artifact: Journal of Design Practice
Artifact promotes discourse and ideas in support of the creation of new knowledge related to contextual, foundational, conceptual, empirical as well as methodological issues and advancements that contribute to the proliferation of rigorous practices of artistic, practice-based, and constructive design research
Diseña
Peer-reviewed, biannual, open access, and bilingual publication by the Escuela de Diseño of the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile. Diseña promotes research in all areas of Design. Its specific aim is to promote critical thought about methodologies, methods, practices, and tools of research and project work.

Databases

Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Design and Applied Arts Index covers journal articles, exhibition reviews, and news published from 1973 to the present. DAAI surveys disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
ProQuest Art, Design and Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts, the Art, Design & Architecture Collection includes ProQuest's specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) (covering modern and contemporary art), Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) (for all aspects of design and crafts), and International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (covering scholarship on western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals from ProQuest's Arts & Humanities Database.
The Work from Cannes Lions This link opens in a new window
The Work provides access to curated collections of creative campaigns from leading brands and agencies.
Users must sign up to create a personal account using their NYU email address in order to access this resource.