Research Guides: Integrated Design &amp; Media: Fine & Applied Art and Architecture

Research Guides

The research guides below were created by Arts Librarians at NYU. These guides will direct you to top journals, databases, and other helpful resources as well as the librarians themselves. In addition to the guides, the Institute of Fine Arts Library may have collections of interest. If you are not currently enrolled as an IFA student, but are an NYU cardholder, email IFA for information and/or access: ifa.library@nyu.edu.

Art & Art History Guide

Artists' Writings and Interviews

Conservation of Art and Cultural Heritage

Urban Design and Architecture Studies

Databases

Art and Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window
The Art & Architecture ePortal database is an eBook resource that features works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. The database also allows users to search for images within all titles by keyword.
Please contact lib-edatabases@nyu.edu if you encounter the message "Content not available in your region".
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source is an essential research database for peer-reviewed, full-text art and architecture journals with coverage dating back to 1914. Subjects include fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture, landscape, urban planning, and architectural design. With strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines, and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts, and thousands of images. It also includes the contents of Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984), formerly called Art Source.
ProQuest Art, Design and Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts, the Art, Design & Architecture Collection includes ProQuest's specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) (covering modern and contemporary art), Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) (for all aspects of design and crafts), and International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (covering scholarship on western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals from ProQuest's Arts & Humanities Database.
Art Magazine Collection Archives This link opens in a new window
Art Magazine Collection Archives contains indexing and full text (including covers and advertisements) for Magazine Antiques (1922-2016), which provides a history of collecting over the course of the 20th century, ARTnews (1902-2006), and Art in America (1913-2015). These journals provide content related to fine arts, art history, interior design, decorative arts, and architecture in the 20th and early 21st century.
Artnet This link opens in a new window
The ArtNet price database provides international auction sales records of fine art, decorative art, and design dating from 1987 to the present.
To access the "Price Database," under the "Price Database" menu near the top, select "Use the ArtNet Price Database"; on the next screen, hit "Login" in the center of the screen and you will be logged in.

You do not need to create an account for NYU access.

Artnet is not accessible through the NYU VPN.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a repository of images of art, architecture, and design. The images are sourced from museums, libraries, archives, and photographers. ARTstor includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching. ARTstor is supplemented by additional content, including publicly available image collections and locally-produced NYU collections.
***Announcement: On August 1, 2024, Artstor will merge with JSTOR. Moving forward, JSTOR will serve as a search platform for the images that were once hosted on Artstor along with the usual JSTOR content. Contact Giana Ricci, Librarian for the Fine Arts, giana.ricci@nyu.edu with questions.***

In order to download images, users must create an ARTstor account.
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Design and Applied Arts Index covers journal articles, exhibition reviews, and news published from 1973 to the present. DAAI surveys disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
Pidgeon Digital: Illustrated Talks by Architects This link opens in a new window
Pidgeon Digital: Illustrated Talks by Architects is a unique library of slideshows in which architects narrate design ideas and concepts that influenced their thinking about a particular building or space. Users can explore images of buildings while listening to artist and architect commentary. The collection was founded in 1979 by Monica Pidgeon (long-time editor of the influential magazine Architectural Design) so as to be able to hear the actual voices of the designers of buildings and listen to their ideas.