Data Sources

AFT statistics are gathered from an annual Teacher Salary Survey and include the "Survey and Analysis of Teacher Salary Trends" and the "AFT Public Employees Compensation Survey." Reports are in .pdf format.

A comprehensive, up-to-date, and easy-to-use collection of more than 10,000 resources from the many disciplines related to child care and early education.

The Common Core of Data (CCD) is a program that annually collects fiscal and non-fiscal data about all public schools, public school districts, and state education agencies. The data include contact information for agencies as well as descriptive information about students and staff and fiscal data.

This report shows how the U.S. education system compares to other major industrialized countries (Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russian Federation, United Kingdom) in four areas: (1) the context of education; (2) preprimary and primary education; (3) secondary education; and (4) higher education. This report is an update of the 2002 G8 Report, and is part of a series to be published in alternate years. Available in .pdf format.

An annual report to Congress by the National Center for Education Statistics that focuses on 60 indicators, representing a consensus of professional judgment on the most significant national measures of the condition and progress of education. Older Condition of Education reports are also available.

Includes 19 middle-income countries comprising over 50 per cent of the world population. By analysing trends in WEI countries between 1995 and 2003 and comparing them to OECD countries, this volume examines the factors which can generate growth in education in one country and constrain it in another. The countries participating in WEI include: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, China, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Jamaica, Jordan, Malaysia, Paraguay, Peru, the Philippines, the Russian Federation, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and Zimbabwe. This site contains statistical tables, which were published in the report, in an electronic format (EXCEL), along with data tables complementing the presented tables, such as data by gender or additional age groups and teacher salaries as percentage of GDP. There is also a link to the full set of questionnaires used to gather the education data for this publication.

Quick statistical information on a variety of US education topics, with links to supporting studies. Updated regularly.

Head Start budget, enrollment, demographic and program figures are presented in tables for the past five years.

The Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS), established as the core postsecondary education data collection program for NCES, is a system of surveys designed to collect data from all primary providers of postsecondary education. IPEDS is a single, comprehensive system designed to encompass all institutions and educational organizations whose primary purpose is to provide postsecondary education. The IPEDS system is built around a series of interrelated surveys to collect institution-level data in such areas as enrollments, program completions, faculty, staff, and finances.

IPUMS Higher Ed disseminates the leading surveys for studying the science and engineering (STEM) workforce in the United States, 1993-Present.

Reports, data bases, studies and speeches on educational achievement in participating studies. Subjects include math, reading, science, civic education, and adult literacy.

International Education Indicators: A Time Series Perspective, 1985-1995 compares educational trends in economically developed countries over time. The countries examined in this report are members of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), an organization of 29 countries dedicated to promoting economic growth and development around the world. This report extends the earlier National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) publication International Education Indicators: A Time Series Perspective from a seven-to an 11-year time series to provide a more comprehensive picture of continuity and change in countries' education systems.

Official data, definitions, methodologies, and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the UN's Millennium Development Goals. Approach data by country and then theme or via the country profiles.

Extensive reports on national and state test scores of 4th, 8th, and 12th grade students by various demographic characteristics; separate surveys on science, mathematics, history, geography. A bibliography lists published NAEP documents since 1970.

NASBE is non-profit organization founded to strengthen state leadership in educational policymaking. Statistics for each state are listed.

National data on schools, enrollment, and outcomes for all levels of education; on-line data is located under two sections of the main menu: Encyclopedia of ED Stats and Survey and Program Areas and includes elementary, secondary, and higher education statistics; library, literacy, and international statistics. Also includes the Schools Staffing Survey and Integrated Post-Secondary Education Survey, codebooks and press releases.

A nationally representative sample of eighth-graders were first surveyed in the spring of 1988. A sample of these respondents were then resurveyed through four follow-ups in 1990, 1992, 1994, and 2000. On the questionnaire, students reported on a range of topics including: school, work, and home experiences; educational resources and support; the role in education of their parents and peers; neighborhood characteristics; educational and occupational aspirations; and other student perceptions.

Provides 10-year projections of statistics for elementary and secondary schools and institutions of higher education; includes enrollments, graduates, teachers, and expenditures. Older projection reports are also available.

Provides access to school district geographic and demographic data useful for describing and analyzing characteristics of school districts, children, and K-12 education.

Provides access to school district geographic and demographic data useful for describing and analyzing characteristics of school districts, children, and K-12 education.

Search for statewide information in elementary/secondary education characteristics and finance, postsecondary education, public libraries, assessments, and selected demographics for all states.

Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication. The Data Centre contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication from which tables can be built. The UIS collects the data for more than 200 countries from Member States and international organizations.

Financing Education - Investments and Returns is the third in a series of reports that analyze education indicators developed through the World Education Indicators Programme (WEI). This report looks at the impact of human capital on economic growth and examines education spending and investment strategies from both public and private perspectives.

Extensive report on educational reform for 180 individual countries in the 1990s; population data throughout the 1990s includes total population, marital status, crime, children with handicaps, income and poverty; school data includes enrollment, number of schools, and educational facilities. Every year, the EFA Global Monitoring Report assesses progress toward the goal of providing basic education to all children, youth and adults by 2015.