Research Guides: Data Sources: Demographics

Demographics

Africa Development Indicators
Contains over 1,000 indicators and time series from 1965 for 53 countries. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators. Results can be scaled, mapped, and charted.

Data.Census.Gov
Gateway/Portal to 2000 US Census data, including population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Also includes American Community Survey, Population Estimates, Economic Census and Annual Economic Surveys.

Annie E. Casey KIDS COUNT
The KIDS COUNT Data Center maintains the best available data and statistics on the educational, social, economic and physical well-being of children. With data at the local, state and national levels, the Data Center features hundreds of indicators, many of which examine the effects of poverty and race on child outcomes.
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers, and includes nearly 400 data files. Currently housed in the Social Science Research Institute at the Pennsylvania State University, the ARDA is funded by the Lilly Endowment, the John Templeton Foundation, and the Pennsylvania State University. Includes National Profiles, U.S. Denominations, and GIS Maps and Reports regarding religion.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Information and data related to the transportation industry, including household-level data; includes transportation economics, freight data, border crossing-data, and commodities transported.
Children's Defense Fund
Longitudinal and cross-sectional data on a variety of issues of importance to researchers interested in the social conditions of children and families including children and gun violence, poverty, childcare, joblessness, grandparents raising grandchildren, and some statistical information on "No Child Left Behind."
County and city data books (University of Virginia Library)
This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books. This service provides the opportunity to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets (subsets only available for 1988-2000).
General Social Survey (GSS)
The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. Registration required.
Geolytics Census Products
A collection of U.S. Census data products from Geolytics.

Geolytics Neighborhood Change Database
Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB) gives users access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, 2010 at the census tract level, with the additional option to access data for all four decades normalized to 2010 tract boundaries. This lets you view and display data as if the 2010 tracts existed and all the data is weighted to these areas. Variables include population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and others. Export data as dbf, ASCII, shapefile, or mid/mif files.
IndiaStat
IndiaStat provides access to statistics on health, higher education, agricultural and industrial production information, economic statistics, and tourism related data in India. The database also contains information bank and financial institutions, companies, co-operatives, crime and law, population, foreign trade, labour and workforce, housing, media, power, transport, urban-rural settlements, and economy.
To access this resource, click on Log-in, and then click IP address to authenticate. Access is limited to one user at a time.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS)
The three major data infrastructure projects of the Minnesota Population center include: IPUMS-International; an integrated series of census microdata samples from 1960 to the present; IPUMS-USA, an integrated series of representative samples drawn from the U.S. censuses of the period from 1850 to 2000; and IPUMS-USA, which also includes American Community Survey (ACS) data from 2000 to 2005. IPUMS-CPS provides integrated data and documentation from the March Current Population Survey (CPS) from 1962 to 2006. Other datasets include the North Atlantic Population Project, the National Historical Geographic Information System, and the Integrated Health Interview Series.
International Database (IDB) - US Census Bureau
The International Data Base (IDB) offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. The IDB has provided access to demographic data for over 25 years to governments, academics, other organizations, and the public.
International Social Survey Programme
A collection of surveys including subjects such as government, citizenship, national identity, social relationships, family, and environment, coordinated cross-nationally.
Mexican Migration Project
Contains survey data for 6,000 households in 30 communities in Mexico and the United States surveyed from 1982/1983 to present to study Mexican migration to the United States.

OECD
OECD (formerly OECD iLibrary) is the online portal for the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. The OCED content includes book collections, policy reports, statistical abstracts, and the OECD.Stat tool, with which users can create custom extracts from the OECD data warehouse.
ReferenceUSA
The Reference USA database contains detailed information on more than 14 million US businesses, 210 million US residents, 855,000 US health care providers.
ReferenceUSA allows users to create personal accounts for saving searches and search criteria.

Annual data available for download beginning in 1997 for research and analysis purposes. Access is available through NYU FDA (Log in with your NYU credentials to view) or through Infogroup Historical Business via WRDS (WRDS account required).
Social Explorer
Social Explorer allows users to visually display demographic data in the U.S. from 1790 through the present at a variety of geographic levels, create reports, maps, and animations that can be downloaded. NYU subscribes to Social Explorer premium service, which includes full tract and county-level historical datasets.
To access Social Explorer, create a user account after signing in to NYU's SSO. If you have questions about authenticating your NYU Social Explorer account from off-campus, please contact Data Services.
Sociometrics
Sociometrics contains datasets that are organized into nine topical data archives: AIDS/STIs, Disability, the American Family, Adolescent Pregnancy and Pregnancy Prevention, Aging, Maternal Drug Abuse, Child Well-Being and Poverty, Complementary and Alternative Medicine and Contextual (Geographic) Data. Users can export datasets as studies packaged with relevant documentation and multiple file formats.
To access the data in the Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL), click on "Browse" and select "Data."

State Stats
This resource provides comprehensive data coverage of each state including health care, crime, education and more. You'll find data from more than 80 different sources covering more than 15 years. You can further explore the data with graphing tools, compare it with other data sets, or export it to Excel.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (1993-present)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The Census Bureau ceased production of the Statistical Abstract in 2012; newer versions are compiled and distributed by ProQuest. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. For historical Statistical Abstracts, see Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012).
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published 1878-2012, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.

United States Census Bureau
Portal to US Census data, including people and households, business and industry, geography and maps. Includes links to special topics and economic indicators.
Wisconsin Longitudinal Study
The Wisconsin Longitudinal Study (WLS) is a long-term study of a random sample of 10,317 men and women who graduated from Wisconsin high schools in 1957. The WLS provides an opportunity to study the life course, intergenerational transfers and relationships, family functioning, physical and mental health and well-being, and morbidity and mortality from late adolescence through 2011.
World Development Indicators
500 time series indicators for 148 countries and regional and income groups, with basic indicators for a further 62 countries. Time series for most indicators cover 1960 to the present.

Data Sources

General Information

Service Desk and Chat

Demographics