CQ Voting & Elections Collection integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.
The American National Election Studies (ANES) produces high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.
ICPSR is a social science repository that includes curated data sets pertaining to many disciplines within the social sciences. ICPSR contains original codebooks and descriptions of methodology, offers multiple file format downloads, and links data to relevant scholarly research. Users can search at the variable level and trace datasets to their use in academic publications. The archive also includes data-driven learning guides for those teaching with data.
Users must create a MyData account from an NYU-owned computer and log on to it at least once every six months to download data. If you need help accessing your ICPSR account, contact Andrew Battista.
Information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics is collected for the nation in November of Congressional and Presidential election years in the Current Population Survey (CPS), a monthly survey of about 50,000 households.
The Atlas is an internet resource providing results of U.S. Presidential Elections to the world community. Data is collected from many official sources. Note that this link directs users to Data-Planet, which contains much of the data.
Through its website the PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the Americas. The full text of constitutions, election results, and rosters of political leaders (past and present) are available here.
Catalist maintains and constantly updates a complete national (50 States, plus the District of Columbia) database of over 280 million registered voters (more than 190 million registered voters and 90 million unregistered adults). Catalist’s advanced web-based application is both the software engine behind, and portal into, an extensive national database. The Q tool enables users to query (across states and nationwide), view, visualize, and export a wide range of data points that are synthesized into a standard format from multiple sources. This resource also includes access to a random one percent sample of individual-level data on registered voters in the United States.
Access to the Catalist Q tool and M tool is by username and password and is limited to advanced graduate students, faculty, or research staff. Please request access via Data Services.