It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ICPSR is a social science repository that includes curated data sets pertaining to many disciplines within the social sciences. ICPSR contains original codebooks and descriptions of methodology, offers multiple file format downloads, and links data to relevant scholarly research. Users can search at the variable level and trace datasets to their use in academic publications. The archive also includes data-driven learning guides for those teaching with data.
Users must create a MyData account from an NYU-owned computer and log on to it at least once every six months to download data. If you are only available to create an account remotely, you can do so by contacting ICPSRfirstname.lastname@example.org via your nyu.edu email and they will set up the account. If you need help accessing your ICPSR account, contact Katie Wissel.
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research archives include datasets from thousands of public opinion surveys with national adult, state, foreign, and special subpopulation samples. The data catalog also includes the iPoll search tool, which allows users to discover data by searching keywords that appear in survey questions. Along with information on survey organization, interview dates, and type of sample, most results include abstracts indicating the subjects covered by the questions in the survey.
Important: Users must create a distinct account within the Roper system after authenticating with NYU to search and download data.
Sociometrics contains datasets that are organized into nine topical data archives: AIDS/STIs, Disability, the American Family, Adolescent Pregnancy and Pregnancy Prevention, Aging, Maternal Drug Abuse, Child Well-Being and Poverty, Complementary and Alternative Medicine and Contextual (Geographic) Data. Users can export datasets as studies packaged with relevant documentation and multiple file formats.
To access the data in the Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL), click on "Browse" and select "Data."
The Odum Institute maintains one of the oldest and largest catalog of machine-readable data in the U.S. It has an extensive collection of U.S. Census data, including one of the most complete holdings for 1970 Census files. Other major sources of data include the North Carolina State Data Center, which distributes North Carolina census data; and the National Center for Health Statistics.
The single most important educational data resource in the United States, NCES is the statistical data arm of the US Department of Education, and the central clearinghouse for statistical information about education of all types. See the FastFacts, QuickTables, CommonCore, and Surveys and Programs pages to get started.
The CESSDA Data Portal provides a seamless interface to datasets from 13 social science data archives across Europe. The Data Portal builds on the work of the EU funded project MADIERA. The project was based on the DDI (Data Documentation Initiative) specifications for documenting datasets, the ELSST thesaurus enabling multilingual functionality, and the Nesstar technology providing functionality for browsing and analysing data.
The UK Data Archive (UKDA) is a centre of expertise in data acquisition, preservation, dissemination and promotion and is curator of the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the UK. It is funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), the Joint Information Systems Committee (JISC) of the Higher Education Funding Councils and the University of Essex. Founded in 1967, it now houses several thousand datasets of interest to researchers in all sectors and from many different disciplines.
The NORC Data Enclave is a secure, virtual environment for storing and analyzing sensitive microdata, including the Making Connections Survey, the the Survey of Earned Doctorates (SED), the Kauffman Firm Survey (KFS), the surveys of NIST's Technology Innovation Program (formerly Advanced Technology Program), and the USDA's Agricultural Resource Management Survey (ARMS).
The mission of the Social Science Data Archive has been and continues to be to provide a foundation for social science research with faculty support throughout an entire research project involving original data collection or the reuse of publicly available studies. Data Archive staff and researchers work as partners throughout all stages of the research process, beginning when a hypothesis or area of study is being developed, during grant and funding activities, while data collection and/or analysis is ongoing, and finally in long term preservation of research results.
Interact with microdata from several national surveys using the online Survey Documentation & Analysis (SDA) interface - includes the General Social Survey, American National Election Studies, and others.
The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers, and includes nearly 400 data files. Currently housed in the Social Science Research Institute at the Pennsylvania State University, the ARDA is funded by the Lilly Endowment, the John Templeton Foundation, and the Pennsylvania State University. Includes National Profiles, U.S. Denominations, and GIS Maps and Reports regarding religion.
GESIS includes Dublin Core metadata from more than 30 data providers among them the ICPSR and the CESSDA Service Providers GESIS, UKDA, SND, DDA, FSD, CSDA, and LiDA. Most of the metadata are harvested from metadata aggregators such as da|ra, DataCite and DataVerse. gesisDataSearch is an agency servicenot only for data providers to gain greater visibility and researchers to find data and manage their data references, but also for other service providers to access data by exposing its structured metadata via OAI-PMH. gesisDataSearch complements the retrieval services of GESIS by enabling users to find data that is not stored itself in the GESIS Data Archive.