It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Career Resources at NYU Shanghai
This guide shares career related resources and services for NYU Shanghai students.
Vault provides information on what it's like to work within an industry, company, or profession. It provides rankings, ratings, and reviews on employers and (U.S.) internship programs. There is advice on resumes, interviews, networking, as well as employer, career, and interviewing guidebooks in various industries.
To gain full access to Vault, you must sign in with your NYU email address, and pick New York University. Create an account to skip nag screen.
This exclusive Case Interview self-assessment will make you the accepted Case Interview domain specialist by revealing just what you need to know to be fluent and ready for any Case Interview challenge. It contains extensive criteria grounded in past and current successful projects and activities by experienced Case Interview practitioners.
With over eighteen years of experience coaching and preparing Harvard students for case interviews, Cosentino offers you the expert advice you need to land a job in the competitive field of management consulting.
The use of complex graphs in case interviews has exploded. You have a very short time to look at the graph, analyze it, extract what s important and apply it to your answer. This book was designed to help you understand the role of graphs in consulting (both during an interview and on the job).
Analyzing a situation, diagnosing a problem, formulating and presenting a recommendation, and gaining approval from executive leadership is one of the best skills you can learn from this book. It also provides useful insights on presentations that any consultants or case competitors would benefit from.
Case interviews come in all formats. The key, as an interviewee, is being prepared. Know what the interviewer is looking for, know the industry/sector, the jargon, the constraints and stakeholders, and how people in the industry operate. Government and nonprofit cases span a wide variety of problems, issues, stakeholders, and politics, which makes them trickier than private sector case interviews.
Case interviews are a crucial part of the hiring process in the consulting industry. Designed to test an applicant's knowledge of business and financial models, their ability to think fast, and sometimes even how well they work as part of a team, the case interview can be a grueling experience. The Vault Guide to the Case Interview, Eighth Edition is packed with information to help job-seekers prepare for these interviews. It provides an inside perspective on what recruiters and interviewers expect from candidates as well as the key business frameworks, sample cases, guesstimates, and brainteasers likely to come up in an interview.
The highly motivational 'in a week' structure of the book provides seven straightforward chapters explaining the key points, and at the end there are optional questions to ensure you have taken it all in. There are also cartoons and diagrams throughout, to help make this book a more enjoyable and effective learning experience.
Preparing for a competency-based interview will give you the strategy you need to: Be selected for the most competitive positions Win the best job at a new organization Get a great first job or internship Be chosen for that critical promotion in your current organization Take control of your career path Increase your salary Secure more interesting assignments and more interesting work
This is a must read! It is the first and the original book of quantitative questions from finance job interviews. Painstakingly revised over 21 years and 17 editions, Heard on The Street has been shaped by feedback from many hundreds of readers.
The industry standard whiteboard interview can be daunting for developers. In Surviving the Whiteboard Interview, author William Gant uses his real-world knowledge and expertise to guide you through the psychological roadblocks of a coding test while also providing you with a sample coding challenge. The steps to your dream role just might be closer than you think.
Covering financial statements, valuation, mergers and acquisitions, and leveraged buyouts, the discussion provides the answers to common technical questions while refreshing your understanding of the core technical analyses behind core models and analyses. Each chapter includes a list of the questions you will almost certainly be asked—along with the answers that interviewers want to hear—from the basic Q&A to the advanced technical analyses and case studies. This guide will reinforce your knowledge and give you the confidence to handle anything they can throw at you.
This guide provides advice on preparing for interviews as well as in-depth sample questions and practice cases to help readers hone their understanding of key financial concepts. Corporate valuation, equities, bonds and interest rates, and mergers and acquisitions are only some of the areas covered here in detail and presented in sample interview questions and cases with easy-to-follow charts and frameworks. Acing technical and quantitative questions can make all the difference in whether or not you receive a job offer. This unique guide also includes advice on questions you should ask and can help you prepare for the even toughest finance interview.
This book contains more than 200 questions based on consultations with hiring managers and technical professionals already working in analytics, Covering data preparation, statistics, analytics implementation, as well as other crucial topics favored by interviewers. Job interviewers will also find the book helpful in preparing interview questions.