International Relations

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages. Publication dates of coverage: 1955 to present.

ProQuest Political Science gives users access to leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides the full-text of core titles, many of which are indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. New to ProQuest Political Science are hundreds of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities, as well as thousands of current working papers from the Political Science Research Network.

Indexes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. Publication dates of coverage: 1964 to present.

Over 250 of these well-known, used and trusted volumes published since the 1960s are available online; covers 14 subject areas, including General History, Regional History, Literary Studies, Philosophy, and Religious Studies.

This digital collection makes available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Allows access to eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses, economic assessments, synopses on Chinese personalities, and more.

Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War contains British government secret intelligence and foreign policy files from 1873 – 1953. The content enables rich research into the intelligence, foreign policy, international relations, and military history in the period of Appeasement, through the Second World War, and into the early Cold War. Provides insights into Britain’s spies, security agents, codebreakers, and more.

Provides access to 6,000+ primary source files from the political departments of the U.K. Foreign Office. During the Cold War, the U.K. Foreign Office and their embassies and consulates throughout Eastern Europe were interested in every aspect of political, economic, cultural, social, and dissident life behind the “Iron Curtain.” Reports covered a hugely diverse range of issues, from state leadership to protest movements; agricultural output to international trade agreements; scientific progress to minority populations; religion to sporting events; and state run media to popular culture.

Apartheid South Africa makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980.

The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide and in Western languages.

Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring text, video, and images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.

Cambridge Archive Editions Online provides electronic access to original documents of the National Archives (UK) represented in facsimile, including numerous maps, on the national heritage and political development of countries in the Middle East, the Balkans, the Caucasus, and Southeast Asia, as well as Russia and China.

Confidential Print: Africa 1834-1966 originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. This collection contains single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports, and texts of treaties. The documents begin with coastal trading in the early nineteenth century and the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa.

The Confidential Print series has been issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices since c. 1820. The series originated out of a need for the Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. The content consists of reports, dispatches, correspondence, political summaries, economical analysis, and description of leading personalities The collection covers a broad sweep of history from c. 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan.

Confidential Print: Latin America provides access to searchable digital facsimiles of documents generated by the British Foreign Office now held at The National Archives, U.K. It includes reports, dispatches, correspondence, economic analyses, and other documents covering Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean, and South America, between 1833 and 1969. For certain periods and regions, only selective files are available; for precise coverage, users should consult the scope notes in the introduction to this resource (under "Quick Links" on the resource homepage or via this link here).