Skip to main content

Zotero: From an Article Database

A guide to using the citation management tool Zotero.

For MOST Databases (Address Bar "Capture" Icons)

In most online resources, Zotero automatically detects when you are looking at information for a book, article, or other source and inserts a "save reference" icon right into the address bar. The address bar icon will look like a book, document, newspaper, etc. To save, simply click the icon. If you are looking at a list of references, you may see a folder icon. This icon will prompt you to select multiple items from the list to save.

Image of Zotero folder capture icon in a URL bar for a Google Scholar search. Caption reads "From scholar.google.com, Zotero senses a list of items, so the 'folder' icon is displayed. You will be prompted to select items to import to Zotero."

Image of Zotero capture icon in a web browser above a PubMed search. Caption reads "In an article database, e.g. PubMed, Zotero senses a single citation, so the 'article' icon is displayed."

Image of a Zotero capture icon in a browser's URL bar above a library catalog search. Caption reads "In the library's BobCat catalog, Zotero sees a book citation, so the 'book' icon is displayed."

Saving Multiple Items at Once

In EBSCO Hosted Databases:

Screenshot of search in an EBSCO database. Captions read "1. To save a citation, move cursor over magnifying glass and 'Add to folder.' 2. Click on Folder to view saved items."

Screenshot of saved items in an EBSCO database search. Captions read "3. In the Folder, Select items. 4. Click 'Export.'"

Screenshot of Export Manager screen in an EBSCO database. Captions read "5. Select the option to 'Direct export' to Zotero. 6. Open Zotero, and highlight the Zotero 'library' you want to save to. 7. Click 'Save.""

 

Export from a Database to Zotero

If Zotero does not automatically detect (provide a "capture icon" for a list, book, or article) to  import a reference into your library you can use the export  feature provided by the database.

  • SAVE the items in the database (using the "clipboard," the "marked list," "folder," whatever the database shopping cart is called.)
  • Next, look for an option to EXPORT from the list. Choose the "RIS" format. References may automatically save into Zotero, or you may have to go back into Zotero, then click the Zotero gear button and choose "import".

Need Help?

Contact us via email or schedule an appointment anytime.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Problem with an e-resource? Fill out this form and let us know.