Business in Contemporary China

The Electric Vehicle Guide page offers comprehensive information and resources on China’s dynamic electric vehicle market both in English and Chinese. The information presented on this page is sourced from reputable outlets, including library-subscribed databases and open data from professional organizations. Four sections include: 

• Reports & Statistics
• News & Articles 
• Books & Book Chapters
• Case Studies

Chinese company research databases can refer to the resources on this page.

Suggested search terms:

• English terms: electric vehicle, electric car, new energy vehicle, new energy car, battery electric vehicle, plug-in hybrid electric vehicle, fuel cell electric vehicle, extended-range electric vehicle, EV, BEV, PHEV, FCEV, EREV
• Chinese terms: 电动车, 电动汽车, 新能源车, 新能源汽车, 纯电动车/电池电动车, 插电式混合动力汽车, 氢燃料电池电动车, 增程式电动汽车

Feel free to contact me at yh4041@nyu.edu if you have any feedback about the content or have more resources to recommend.

BCC Research (Please click on the link of BCC Research first to authenticate your NYU IP addresses.)

• Electric Vehicle Charging: Infrastructure and Global Markets (November 2022, Industry Report)
• Electric Vehicles and Fuel Cell Vehicles: Global Markets (August 2022, Industry Report)
• Global Electric Vehicle Battery Reuse and Recycling Market (February 2022, Industry Report)
• Global Market for Polymers Used in Electric Vehicles (April 2022, Industry Report)
• Wireless Electric Vehicle Chargers: Global Market Outlook (December 2022, Industry Report)

CEIC Data

• China Premium Database > Automobile Sector > New Energy Vehicle (Industry Statistics)
• China Premium Database > Energy Sector > New Energy: Hydrogen Energy; Lithium Battery and Main Material (Industry Statistics)

Deloitte

• Global Automotive Consumer Study (Jan. 2023, Global Consumer Survey) 
• Electric Vehicles: Setting a Course for 2030 (July 28, 2020, Industry Report)

Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) 

• China Car Parts Sector Report 2023-2024 (May 23, 2023, Industry Report)
• China Renewable Energy Sector Report 2023-2024 (May 11, 2023, Industry Report)
• China Automotive Outlook 2023 (April 26, 2023, Frost & Sullivan, Industry Report)
• A Breather After the Sprint - The Global EV Industry at a Glance (May 21, 2023, Industry Report)
• Auto Insights (AutoInfo/中国汽车工业信息网)
• Auto Topics (AutoInfo/中国汽车工业信息网)
• CATARC-Auto Market Statistics (AutoInfo/中国汽车工业信息网)
• CATARC - Automobile Export and Ownership Statistics (AutoInfo/中国汽车工业信息网)
• CPCA - Industry Insights Monthly (乘联合)
• China Automotive Industry Competitive Analysis (AnBound)

FitchConnect

• China Autos Report Includes 10-year forecasts to 2032: Q3 2023 (June 21, 2023, Industry Report)
• China Autos Report Includes 10-year forecasts to 2032: Q2 2023 (March 1, 2023, Industry Report)
• China Autos Report Includes 10-year forecasts to 2032: Q1 2023 (Nov. 30, 2022, Industry Report)

GlobalData Disruptor

• Electric Vehicles (Jan. 23, 2023, Global Industry Report)
• Electric Vehicle Batteries (May 28, 2021, Global Industry Report)
• Electric Vehicles in Defense (Oct. 11, 2021, Global Industry Report)
• Electric Vehicles in Insurance (June 27, 2023, Global Industry Report)
• Electric Vehicles in Oil & Gas (Feb. 23, 2022, Global Industry Report)
• Electric Vehicles in Power (Sept. 28, 2022, Global Industry Report)

IBISWorld

• Alternative-Fuel Car & Automobile Manufacturing in China (July 2022, Industry Report)
• Automobile Manufacturing in China (May 2022, Industry Report)
• Passenger Car Manufacturing in China (June 2023, Industry Report)
• Gas Stations in China (Nov. 2022, Industry Report)

Marketline (Via Ebsco)

• Hybrid & Electric Cars Industry Profile: China (2015-2020, 2022)

MarketResearch.com Academic

• Hybrid & Electric Vehicles: China (May 2022, Freedonia Focus Reports)
• Global Hybrid & Electric Vehicles (May 2022, Freedonia Focus Reports)

Mintel Academic

• Electric and Hybrid Cars - China (April 30, 2023, Consumer Survey)
• Auto Marketing & Retailing - China (Feb. 28, 2023, Consumer Survey)
• Auto Influencers - China (March 31, 2021, Consumer Survey)
• Car Aftermarket - China (Oct. 31, 2022, Consumer Survey)
• Car Purchasing Process - China (Dec. 30, 2022, Consumer Survey)
• Car Usage Habits - China (Sept. 30, 2022, Consumer Survey)
• Lifestyles of Luxury Car Owners - China (May 31, 2022, Consumer Survey)
• New Energy Cars & Smart Cars - China (April 30, 2022, Consumer Survey)

Passport (formerly GMID)

• Electrical Equipment for Engines and Vehicles in China: ISIC 319 (Oct. 14, 2022, Industry Report)
• EV Readiness Index 2022 (July 1, 2022, Global Industry Briefing)
• Electric Mobility: Opportunities and Challenges in the Clean Fuel Industry (Sept. 15, 2021, Global Industry Briefing)

Statista

• Electric Vehicles in China (2022, Industry Statistics)
• Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure in China (2023, Industry Statistics)
• eMobility - In-depth Market Insights & Data Analysis (Oct., 2023, Global Industry Report)
• Electric Vehicles Worldwide (2023, Industry Report)

中国知网-中国年鉴数据库 / CNKI - China Yearbooks

• 中国汽车市场年鉴 (China's Auto Market Almanac, 1995-2023)
• 安徽汽车年鉴 (Anhui Automotive Yearbook, 2007-2008, 2011-2013, 2015-2020)

News Database

• China Briefing - Electric Vehicle News
• The China Project - Electric Vehicle News
• The Economist - Electric Vehicle News
• Financial Times - Electric Vehicle News (Only available to NYU Shanghai)
• The New York Times - Electric Vehicle News (Require to register for an individual account using NYU email address)
• The Wall Street Journal - Electric Vehicle News (Require to register for an individual account using NYU email address)
• The Wire China - Electric Vehicle News
• Yicai Global - Electric Vehicle News

Magazines & Newspapers

• 汽车工业研究 (Auto Industry Research, 1994 - present, quarterly, magazine)
• 汽车观察 (Automotive Observer, 2005 - present, monthly, magazine)
• 汽车商业评论 (Auto Business Review, 2006 - present,  web news)
• 汽车纵横 (Auto Review, 2011 - present, monthly, magazine)
• 智能网联汽车 (Intelligent Connected Vehicles, 2018 - present, bimonthly, magazine)
• 新能源汽车报 (New Energy Vehicle, 2017 - present, weekly, newspaper)
• 汽车商报 (Auto Business, 2020 p present, weekly, newspaper )

Research Articles

• A global comparison and assessment of incentive policy on electric vehicle promotion (Journal Article)
• Why people want to buy electric vehicle: An empirical study in first-tier cities of China (Journal Article)
• Will subsidies drive electric vehicle adoption? Measuring consumer preferences in the U.S. and China (Journal Article)
• Willingness to pay and preferences for alternative incentives to EV purchase subsidies: An empirical study in China (Journal Article)
• The Role of Government in the Market for Electric Vehicles: Evidence from China (Working Paper)

• Byton: A Fallen Chinese Electric Vehicle Startup (2022)
• Didi Chuxing: Expansion and Risk Management (2019)
• Elon Musk and Tesla: An Electrifying Love Affair (2021)
• FAW-Volkswagen Audi: Pioneering the Future (2012–Present) (2016)
• Foreign Direct Investment in Emerging Markets: The Case of the Chinese Electric Car (2011)
• General Motors Creating Shareholder Value Through Diversification in Electric Vehicles: Can a Legacy Company Win? (2023)
• Navigating the Road Ahead: BMW’s Path in the Electrified Vehicle Market (2021)
• Tesla, Inc.: Managing Risk in the Autopilot Program (2023)
• When Your Superstar Electric Vehicle Client Doesn’t Pay (2023)
• Why You Need an Innovation Strategy: Ford Motor Company Tries to Turn Around With Electric Vehicles in China (2021)

• 中国汽车工业协会 (China Association of Automobile Manufacturers)
• 中国汽车流通协会 (China Automobile Dealers Association)
• 中国汽车流通协会乘用车市场信息联席分会 (China Automobile Dealers Association: China Passenger Car Association)
• 中国汽车工程学会 (China Society of Automotive Engineers)