Research Guides: Business in Contemporary China: Databases

Business News

Caixin Global

Up-to-date financial and business news in China by Caixin Media, the Company Index module covers +1,000 multinational companies news in China since 2010.
Using NYU email address to create a free account first
财新网 also available, independent from its English version, including the magazine 财新周刊
App access: Yes
Podcast: China Biz Roundup, China Stories, Caixin-Sinica Business Brief

China Briefing

Part of Asia Briefing, hosts a wealth of business intelligence on legal, tax, and operational issues in China from a practical perspective
Free online source, but registration is required to view China Briefing Magazine and other publications
App access: Yes, accessed through the module of Asia Briefing

China Core Newspapers

A platform for browsing 617 Chinese popular newspapers starting from 2000
Featured Titles: 人民日报, 光明日报, 经济日报, 中国教育报, 中国人口报, 中国证券报, 中国青年报, 环球时报, 解放日报, 解放军报, 文汇报, 东方早报, 上海证券报, 第一财经日报
No registration required
App access: No

The China Project

Formerly known as SupChina, is a New York-based, China-focused news and information platform for global audiences with topics including business, technology, politics, culture, and society of China
No registration required
App access: No
Podcast: Café & Seda, Caixin-Sinica Business Brief, China Corner Office, The China-Global South Podcast, The China in Africa Podcast, China Sports Insider Podcast, China Stories, Sinica, Strangers in China, Tech Buzz China by Pandaily, You Can Learn Chinese

People’s Daily/人民日报

Published daily issues that China's central government announces its policies and disseminates governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world with archives back to 1946 and in full-text search
No registration required
App access: No

PressReader

A platform for browsing newspapers and magazines from 150 countries and in 65 languages, including a few from China
Featured Titles: Beijing Review, China Daily, Global Times, Global Times - Weekend, 证券市场周刊, 每日经济新闻, 中国证券报, 中国经济学人, 哈佛商业评论, 第一财经, 数字商业时代, 经理人, 销售与市场, 理财, 中国商人, 中国商界, 中国金融, 新财富, 中国外汇, 现代商业银行
No registration required
App access: Yes

South China Morning Post

News and insights from Hong Kong, China and the world
For online news articles from https://www.scmp.com/, users should choose NewsBank and Lexis Advance to access the full text
No registration required
App access: No
Podcast: Inside China, China Geopolitics, Eat Drink Asia, Post Books Podcast, Behind the Story, Inside China Tech, Asia Briefing, The Adventure Trail, Morning Studio

The Wire China

Stories of China's economic rise, and its influence on global business, finance, trade, labor and the environment
No registration required
App access: No

Yicai Global

Insightful information and analysis of the economy, finance, tech, startups, and entrepreneurs since 2016 by Yicai Media Group, the financial news arm of Shanghai Media Group.
No registration required
第一财经 also available, independent from its English version.
App access: Yes

Other Sources That Include News on China Business

ABI/INFORM (ProQuest)
Asian & European Business Collection (ProQuest)
Barron's China
Business Source Complete (Ebsco)
Bloomberg Businessweek
EIU.com
Factiva (Also includes news in Chinese and supports search with Chinese Characters)
Financial Times
Harvard Business Review
Newsbank: Access World News
Nexis Uni (Also includes news in Chinese and supports search with Chinese Characters)
The Economist
The New York Times (Require to register for an individual account using NYU email address)
The Wall Street Journal (Require to register for an individual account using NYU email address)

Note: “App access: Yes” means you can access the content for free through the app on your mobile devices. “App access: No” means no app available or not for free.

Company & Financial Information

Capital IQ
Data on public and private companies, financial statements, M&A/deals, PE/VC, LBOs, and executives and boards worldwide. Use the screening and charting features to create lists of firms for tasks such as investment analysis coursework or your job search. More information is available in the Capital IQ Guide.

Requires NetID and password on and off-campus.
Important: All third-party cookies must be enabled in the web browser setting while accessing Capital IQ.

Using an incognito or private window is highly recommended.
CSMAR
CSMAR data consists of historical financial statements, and stock returns for China's listed companies (on Shanghai Stock Exchange and the Shenzhen Stock Exchange). Our Library has subscribed to 31 datasets under the China Stock Market, China Listed Firms Research, & Bank Research series.

WRDS data is available via WRDS (Wharton Research Database Service) as well.
eCommerceDB
eCommerceDB provides detailed information for 20,000 e-commerce stores in 50 countries, including detailed revenue analytics, competitor analysis, market development, marketing budget, and KPIs. Includes analyses of national e-commerce markets, customer behaviors and purchase patterns, market trends, and top stores.

Users must click the “Log in” link once in order to gain IP recognition.
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)
Emerging Markets Information Service contains articles, news, financial filings for publicly held companies, and analyst reports in emerging countries in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe.

Requires NetID and password.
GlobalData Disruptor
Disruptor tracks emerging tech-enabled opportunities across all industries by providing information on start-ups, tech-led innovations, latest technology trends, influencers, consumer insights, and venture capital portfolio investments.

Please click on "IP Access" and then "Disruptor" to access database
Hoovers
Hoovers contains public and private company profiles. Includes key executive profiles, industry coverage, and detailed company fact sheets.
Pitchbook
Research and analyze companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle.

Users should be directed straight to the PitchBook interface after the Duo push. If not, follow the steps below based on the screen you see:

If prompted with Choose how to sign in: select 'New York University'.
If prompted with Sign In to PitchBook: select 'Sign in with SSO' and enter your NYU email (NetID@nyu.edu).

Users must always use NYU Libraries' link to log in.

Daily download and print limits are restricted to 10 rows, with a monthly maximum of 25 rows. Screen capture is prohibited. For bulk data access, please go to PitchBook via WRDS. If you do not have a WRDS account, please refer to the WRDS guide for more information.
Preqin
Provides financial information and data on alternative asset markets worldwide. NYU's subscription includes private equity and venture capital, private debt, real estate, hedge funds, infrastructure, sustainability/ESG, and Preqin's Insight+ analysis. Other modules are not available at this time.

Users may request large data downloads (that require delivery via a custom Preqin link) via Preqin's live chat. Preqin's private equity and venture capital data is also accessible via WRDS.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage allows users to research companies, industries, and funds (mutual funds & ETFs), as well as to access financial news and directories, and financial education materials.

Please clear your browser's cache and cookies before attempting to access this resource.

Industry Information

BCC Research
BCC Research reports provide market research with statistical and analytical information. Topics include industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology industries.
EIU Viewpoint
Economist Intelligence Unit's (EIU) country analysis and forecasts covers over 200 countries and highlight political, economic and business developments in all significant markets, both established and emerging. Includes access to the "CountryData" and "Market Indicators and Forecasts" modules.

For access to economic statistics, analysis, and forecasts for China's 31 provinces and 292 largest cities, click 'More' in the top right corner.
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)
Emerging Markets Information Service contains articles, news, financial filings for publicly held companies, and analyst reports in emerging countries in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe.

Requires NetID and password.
FitchConnect
Formerly known as BMI Research, FitchConnect contains proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings and forecasts covering many countries and industries. Their research features country risk, financial markets analysis, and industry research.

Select 'Sign in at New York University" to access the database.
Gartner Reports
Gartner provides access to information technology and high tech industry and market research reports, and includes their popular "magic quadrant", "hyper cycle", and "cool vendors" series.

When you click on the database link, you will be prompted to answer questions that will help customize your Gartner Reports profile. You may adjust those profile settings once you are on the database homepage.
GlobalData Disruptor
Disruptor tracks emerging tech-enabled opportunities across all industries by providing information on start-ups, tech-led innovations, latest technology trends, influencers, consumer insights, and venture capital portfolio investments.

Please click on "IP Access" and then "Disruptor" to access database
GlobalData Travel and Tourism
GlobalData's Travel and Tourism intelligence services provide research on key market trends & how they will impact the future of the industry.
IBISWorld
IBIS World is a comprehensive collection of industry market research.

Requires NetID and password on and off-campus.
MarketResearch.com Academic
MarketResearch provides access to market research reports and industry analysis.
Statista
Statista aggregates data on markets, industry, politics, economics, and population. Users can export datasets in a variety of formats. Sources include trade publications, market and opinion research institutions, government sources, business and economic databases, reference publications, media sources, and scholarly articles. Include Statista's "Global Consumer Survey", which helps marketers understand consumer behavior and brand interaction.

Marketing Information

eCommerceDB
eCommerceDB provides detailed information for 20,000 e-commerce stores in 50 countries, including detailed revenue analytics, competitor analysis, market development, marketing budget, and KPIs. Includes analyses of national e-commerce markets, customer behaviors and purchase patterns, market trends, and top stores.

Users must click the “Log in” link once in order to gain IP recognition.
eMarketer
eMarketer monitors, aggregates, and analyzes data in the form of analyst reports from resources supplied by research firms, consultancies, government agencies, and universities. eMarketer focuses on worldwide Internet usage and e-business. The reports, articles, and in this database charts cover broadband and dial-up, consumers and e-commerce, e-business and IT, marketing and advertising; media and entertainment, demographics and usage; and mobile markets. eMarketer includes access to analyst reports, all downloadable in PDF, JPG, and Excel formats.

A valid NYU NetId and password is required to access this resource
Mintel Academic
Mintel Reports offers research reports covering European, UK, and US consumer markets. The reports analyse market drivers, sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. The reports are supplemented by brief digests of relevant recent events and UK and US demographic and economic statistics.

Requires Net ID and password on and off-campus.
Mintel GNPD
Mintel GNPD (Global New Products Database) monitors worldwide product innovation and new product activity in consumer packaged goods markets. It covers food, drink, household, beauty & personal care, healthcare, and pets. GNPD allows you to screen hundreds of thousands of products by country, category, packaging, price, and other features. GNPD's analytical tools are helpful for analyzing trends in product claims, ingredients, and packaging, in addition to identifying competing products.

Requires Net ID and password on and off-campus.
Passport
Euromonitor Passport (formerly GMID) provides international market intelligence, including economic statistics, on industries, countries, and consumers.

Requires Net ID and password.
Statista Global Consumer Survey
Statista Global Consumer Survey helps researchers understand consumer behavior as well as consumer interactions with brands. The results of a worldwide online survey about the attitudes and behaviors of a broad consumer base. The survey provides data about different industries and topics from the online and offline world, which can be combined in cross tabs and individual target groups.
Stylus
Stylus produces market research reports on fashion and design, including cross-industry trends and consumer insights.
WARC
WARC (formerly World Advertising Research Center) provides access to advertising and marketing information from various sources, including academic and trade journals, case studies, rankings, conference papers, and more. Users can find trends reports, news, and current data on media usage and ad spending. WARC provides access to several academic and trade journals including: Admap, International journal of advertising, International Journal of Market Research, Journal of Advertising Research, Journal of Advertising History, and Market Leader.
WGSN

Fashion and design trend forecasting, reports, and consumer insights. NYU Libraries subscribe to the Insight, Fashion, and Lifestyle & Interiors modules.
The Work from Cannes Lions

The Work provides access to curated collections of creative campaigns from leading brands and agencies.

To access this resource, please click on “Continue with Open-athens”, search for New York University, and log in with your NetID credentials.

Statistics & Datasets

China Social and Economic Data Platform: Yearly Data
Four steps to get municipal level data in China.
Step 1: Select the regions
Step 2: Select the index through keywords searching
Step 3: Select the year range and click on "generate data table"
Step 4: Export the data through click on "download data table"
Note: If the data table includes more than 3000 cells, please divide them into smaller groups and generate them several times.

CEIC Data
CEIC Data provides economic research on emerging and developed markets by economists around the globe. Users can navigate the data portal to create "insights," or data extracts on indicators associated with trade and economy.

Users are advised to register for an account with CEIC before creating data extracts. NYU users who navigate from the library page may access the resource by clicking "Guest login" on the resource homepage.
Statista
Statista aggregates data on markets, industry, politics, economics, and population. Users can export datasets in a variety of formats. Sources include trade publications, market and opinion research institutions, government sources, business and economic databases, reference publications, media sources, and scholarly articles. Include Statista's "Global Consumer Survey", which helps marketers understand consumer behavior and brand interaction.
Sage Data
Sage Data aggregates datasets sourced from reputable public and private organizations, such as OECD, China Data Online, the United Nations, and the U.S. Census. It covers topics across many subject areas, including education, population and income, industry, commerce, trade, housing and construction. Users can create custom extracts and download files in delimited, SAS, or shapefile formats.
Chinese Statistical Yearbooks Database
The Chinese Statistical Yearbooks Database (中国经济社会大数据研究平台) offers a wide variety of economic, social and environmental statistical information. Users can find information through a data search (with a standard, an index value, and an index definition mode), a data analysis tool (enabling comparison by districts, indexes, years), and yearbook navigation. The database includes all aspects and fields: national accounting, fixed assets investment, population and human resources, people’s living conditions and price indices, enterprises and institutions, finance, natural resources, energy and environment, political and public administration, peasants and agriculture and rural areas, industry, construction, transportation and telecommunication, domestic trade and foreign trade, touring, catering, education and technology, culture and sports, and public health.

To return to the old interface, once you go to the database click on 返回旧版 (Back to Old Version) at the top left corner.
NYUSH Chinese Datasets Archive
The Datasets page is led by NYUSH Center for Data Science and Analytics, and created in collaboration with NYUSH Library. It aims to serve as a starting point for students and scholars to search for data related with China. The data have a focus almost exclusively on China collected mainly by Chinese administrations and scholars. The datasets presented here should either have open access to the public, or require mininal registration (a single step of logging in), or at the most ask users to fill in an application form for permission. The data can be accessed as either downloadable sets, online analysis tools, or aggregate statistics usually in tables.

Major City Statistics in China

EIU China Focus City Datasets
Beijing Statistical Yearbook (Chinese 2005-, English 2008- )
Changsha Statistical Yearbook (Chinese 2014-)
Chengdu Statistical Yearbook (Chinese 1998-)
Chongqing Statistical Yearbook (Bilingual 2000-)
Guangzhou Statistical Yearbook (Chinese 1949-, Bilingual 2000-)
Hangzhou Statistical Yearbook (Chinese 1999-, Bilingual 2001-)
Hefei Statistical Yearbook (Chinese 1998-)
Nanjing Statistical Yearbook (Chinese 2006-)
Ningbo Statistical Yearbook (Bilingual 2003-)
Qingdao Statistical Yearbook (Chinese 2006-, Bilingual 2011-)
Shanghai Statistical Yearbook (Chinese 2004-, English 2009-)
Shenyang Statistical Yearbook (Chinese 2016-)
Shenzhen Statistical Yearbook (Bilingual 2010-)
Suzhou Statistical Yearbook (Bilingual 2002-)
Tianjin Statistical Yearbook (Bilingual 2002-)
Wuhan Statistical Yearbook (Bilingual 2010-)
Xi'an Statistical Yearbook (Chinese 2014-, English 2013-)
Xiamen Statistical Yearbook (Chinese 2003-)
Zhengzhou Statistical Yearbook (Chinese 1999-)

Financial Terminals

Bloomberg Guide
by Daniel Hickey Last Updated Jul 3, 2025 34948 views this year

WIND Guide
by Henry Huang Last Updated Mar 20, 2025 1597 views this year

LSEG Workspace
Individual account creation required before you can login. Account requests require a mandatory 7-10 business day processing period. Users with existing accounts may log into the web interface here. LSEG Workspace provides access to fundamental financial data on public companies, merger and acquisitions, financial market data and quotes, analyst reports, and private equity and venture capital. It features powerful screening and charting capabilities. This product was formerly known as Thomson ONE, Eikon, and Refinitiv Workspace.

Each user is permitted to view and/or download up to 150 pages of analyst report content ("AMR") per 24 hour period. Faculty may request expanded AMR access - pending availability - by emailing the Business Library team using our form.

Users may log in via the LSEG web platform, or optionally via LSEG's Mac and PC software.