Resources for Data Scholarship in Business & Economics

Data.gov is the US federal government's open data site, and aims to make government more open and accountable. Around 240,000 datasets available.

An open source web application for sharing and locating datasets in the social and physical sciences.

The UK Data Archive (UKDA) is a centre of expertise in data acquisition, preservation, dissemination and promotion and is curator of the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the UK. It is funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), the Joint Information Systems Committee (JISC) of the Higher Education Funding Councils and the University of Essex. Founded in 1967, it now houses several thousand datasets of interest to researchers in all sectors and from many different disciplines.

The CESSDA Data Portal provides a seamless interface to datasets from 13 social science data archives across Europe. The Data Portal builds on the work of the EU funded project MADIERA. The project was based on the DDI (Data Documentation Initiative) specifications for documenting datasets, the ELSST thesaurus enabling multilingual functionality, and the Nesstar technology providing functionality for browsing and analysing data.

A repository where data are published as supplemental materials for journal articles. Data in Dryad is CC0, which means you can use it however you want. Till 2022, the Dryad platform represents 50,000 data publications – the work of 200,000 researchers in connection with 70,000 international institutions and over 1,000 academic journals.

Figshare hosts over 3 million records, including datasets, software, publications, presentations, and other research materials. It supports integration with various research tools and platforms, enhancing the management and sharing of research outputs. Each item on Figshare is assigned a Digital Object Identifier (DOI), which enhances the citability and visibility of research outputs.

Data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.
The data is collected and supplied from agencies from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as well as state partners. This includes the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Food and Drug Administration, and the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, among others. "

An open-access repository developed under the European OpenAIRE program and operated by CERN. Zenodo hosts over 2 million records, including datasets, software, publications, and other research materials. It offers advanced search capabilities, enabling users to discover research outputs easily. Researchers and institutions from around the globe use Zenodo, spanning various disciplines. Additionally, Zenodo provides seamless integration with GitHub, allowing developers to archive software projects and make them citable.

GenBank, maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), is a comprehensive nucleotide sequence database. It supports genomics and biotechnology research with millions of genetic sequences, offering advanced search tools and bioinformatics platform integration.

The Protein Data Bank (PDB) is a global repository for 3D structural data of proteins and nucleic acids. It facilitates biological research with detailed structural data and integrates with molecular modeling tools, providing unique identifiers for easy citation.

Earthdata, managed by NASA, is a repository for Earth science data from satellite observations. It supports environmental research with extensive datasets on climate, oceans, and land, offering advanced search and visualization tools for easy access and application. As of recent estimates, the Earthdata archive contains over 100 petabytes (PB) of data and is projected to grow significantly in the coming years.