Research Guides: African American and Black Diaspora Studies: Avery Fisher Center for Music and Media

Location & Additional Information

The Avery Fisher Center for Music and Media
The Avery Fisher Center for Music and Media (AFC) is located on the 7th floor of Bobst Library. Our collections consist of more than 40,000 videos (including U.S. and foreign cinema, drama and music performances, documentaries, art films, and more) and more than 95,000 audio recordings (including music from the broadest spectrum of classical, traditional, and popular artists, genres, and cultures). Our viewing and listening facilities support a variety of analog and digital formats.

Search for Video and Audio

Library Main Page
In the search bar enter the subject or title and select "NYU Avery Fisher Center (A/V Materials" from the dropdown menu located to the right of the search bar.

Streaming Audio and Video

Black Studies in Video
Black Studies in Video is a collection of documentaries, newsreels, interviews, and archival footage relating to black culture and experience in the United States.
Caribbean Studies in Video: The Banyan Archive
Caribbean Studies in Video provides streaming video access to the archives the Banyan Production company of Trinidad and Tobago, the first producer of original television in the Caribbean beginning in the 1970s. Material include interviews with writers and cultural figures, documentaries, and theater, music, and dance performances.
Criterion Collection
The Criterion Collection offers streaming access to more than 400 cinematic classics selected from the Criterion Films catalog.
Kanopy Streaming
Kanopy Streaming provides access to contemporary and classic feature films and documentaries, from the major Hollywood studios and well as independent and international filmmakers.
Music Online: Jazz Music Library
Jazz Music Library is a collection of jazz recordings, with more than 66,000 albums documenting the genre's history and international evolution.
Music Online: Listening
Music Online: Listening is an integrated search engine for the recorded music collections published by Alexander Street Press, including American Music, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound.
PBS Video Collection
The PBS video collection provides streaming access to selected documentaries and programs produced by the Public Broadcasting Service. Coverage runs from the 1970s to present day, and spans a wide range of topics including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, current events, and biographies. Highlights include programs from Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.