Business of Media

Factiva is a resource for U.S. and international newspapers (html full text only, no images or print layout versions), news transcripts, trade journals, newsletters, industry snapshots, and market data charts for recent stock prices. Coverage dates vary from title to title, but primarily span the late 20th century to present.

Nexis Uni ​(Formerly LexisNexis Academic Universe) provides access to many trade journals in area of media and business. Click on the Source Tab and select Industry to view trade journals by industry.

The Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive offers digitized primary sources for studying the history of the film, music, theater, and broadcast industries from 1880 to the near present. Magazines include American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Hollywood Reporter, Mix, Musical Express, Radio and Records, Reggae & African Beat, Spin, Stage, Variety, and Writers Guild of America.

Covers newspapers, trade journals, and scholarly publications in the area of media and communications.

ABI/INFORM features full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business, and economics periodicals. Researchers can locate country- and industry-focused reports, and its international focus provides a picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Business Source Complete is a full text database of articles from popular, scholarly, and trade publications. Subjects covered include management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Dates of coverage: 1886 to present.

Factiva is a resource for U.S. and international newspapers, news transcripts, trade journals, newsletters, and more.
Because of an interface upgrade, when first logged in, click "Switch Factiva"on the top tool bar in order to proceed using the following steps:
To limit your search to trade publications, expand the "Source Type" field to narrow to either "Industry Sources" or sources "By Type"=>"Trade (B2B)."

Coverage dates vary from title to title, but primarily span the late 20th century to present.

Statista aggregates data on markets, industry, politics, economics, and population. Users can export datasets in a variety of formats. Sources include trade publications, market and opinion research institutions, government sources, business and economic databases, reference publications, media sources, and scholarly articles. Include Statista's "Global Consumer Survey", which helps marketers understand consumer behavior and brand interaction.

MRI Simmons Insights provides a platform for users to access data and analytic tools based on annual consumer surveys. Users can explore consumer demographics, behavior, psychographics, brand preferences, and all major media behaviors covering television, online, mobile, print, radio, social media, and more. NYU subscribes to the Brand and Sales Catalyst modules.

SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing data variables. Users have access to demographics, marketing data, consumer behavior (purchasing and product usage data), market segments, health, and business points for States, Congressional Districts, Counties, Cities/Places, ZIP Codes, Census Tracts and Block Groups. Users can also export data, maps, reports and shapefiles for use outside of SimplyAnalytics. Now includes Nielsen Scarborough Data Module.

Includes scholarly journal articles, as well as trades, newspapers related to business. Full-text of the Wall Street Journal is also included.

Contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, and more.

Business Source Complete is a full text database of articles from popular, scholarly, and trade publications. Subjects covered include management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Dates of coverage: 1886 to present.