Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business of Media

This guide is designed for NYU students researching general topics in media business.

Trade Publications

Publishers Weekly

  • Description: Designed to serve all the segments involved in the creation, production, marketing and sale of the written word in book, audio, video and electronic formats.
  • Library Access to Publishers Weekly: Available from several databases, with coverage extending as far back as 1992. Current print issues are held in the 3rd floor periodicals reading room in Bobst. Microfilm and microfiche cover 1966 through the present.

Editor & Publisher

  • Description: Covers newspaper industry and related businesses. Contains news articles on all facets of newspapering: newsroom & editorial, new media, advertising, circulation, promotion, public relations, production, news services & syndicates, technology, legal, campus journalism, and finance.
  • Library Access to Editor & Publisher: Available from several databases, with coverage extending as far back as 1992. Bound print volumes from 1983-2009 are held in offsite storage. Microfilm and microfiche in Bobst cover 1961 through the present.

Folio

  • Description: Focuses on all aspects of the marketing, management and distribution of magazines.
  • Library Access to Folio: Full-text access via Wilson & Ebsco, extending back to 1998. Bound volumes covering 1975-2002 are available in Bobst.

Book Industry Trends

  • Description: Publication of the Book Industry Study Group, a trade organization that advocates for supply chain standards, research, and best practices in book publishing, retail, and distribution.
  • Library Access to Book Industry Trends: Bobst has only a few volumes, covering 1977 to 1980, and held in offsite storage. The New York Public Library maintains an active subscription, though volumes have also been offsite and need to be requested in advance for use.

Many descriptions are taken from Ulrichs Periodicals Directory.

Trade Associations