General - U.S. - Economics - Research Guides at New York University

NYU-Licensed Access

Dewey Data
Dewey is an academic research data platform that provides access to third-party quantitative and geospatial datasets across a variety of categories including behavioral economics, corporate finance, marketing, public policy, real estate, urban planning, weather, workforce management. Feature datasets include SafeGraph, Advan Research, dataplor.
More information about Dewey Data features, access policies, and support documents can be found at: Dewey Data Guide .
Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United State is a source for downloadable quantitative data that pertains to America's past. Topics of data range from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. Users can access reports, essays, and extract data into Excel tables.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a web mapping platform that contains data on demographics, real estate, city crime rates, health, schools, housing affordability, employment, energy, and public investments. Users can create online, interactive maps that can be shared and can upload their own point data to be juxtaposed with the data PolicyMap contains.
Sage Data
Sage Data aggregates datasets sourced from reputable public and private organizations, such as OECD, China Data Online, the United Nations, and the U.S. Census. It covers topics across many subject areas, including education, population and income, industry, commerce, trade, housing and construction. Users can create custom extracts and download files in delimited, SAS, or shapefile formats.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer contains access to U.S. Census data dating back to 1790. Users can create maps and embed them as objects or download static images.
To access Social Explorer, create a user account after signing in to NYU's SSO. If you have questions about authenticating your NYU Social Explorer account from off-campus, please contact Data Services.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (1993-present)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The Census Bureau ceased production of the Statistical Abstract in 2012; newer versions are compiled and distributed by ProQuest. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. For historical Statistical Abstracts, see Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012).
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published by the Census Bureau from 1878-2012, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. For newer Statistical Abstracts, see Proquest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (2013-present).
Statistical Insight
Statistical Insight provides indexing and abstracts for federal, state, and international statistical publications as well as selected business and professional publications containing statistics. Approximately 20% of the federal statistical publications are available in full text. This resource includes all content from the American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS), including Statistical Datasets. Dates of coverage: 1973 to present.

Publicly Available

ALFRED (Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data)
Allows users to download data sets from a specific date in history (as far back as 1927 in some cases).
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Includes four types of macroeconomic accounts data: national income and product accounts, industry accounts, regional accounts, and international accounts.
Census Bureau Index of Economic Activity
The U.S. Census Bureau Index of Economic Activity (IDEA) is an aggregation of 15 of the Census Bureau’s primary economic data series that provides a single time series constructed as a weighted average. Convenient source for current economic indicators, with links to data supplied by many Federal agencies. Historical access varies depending on the indicator and the agency.
FRED (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis)
Contains approximately 72,000 time-series data sets that include components of the consumer Price Index, per-capita personal income, and unemployment statistics for small geographic areas in the United States.
Statistics of U.S. Businesses
Provides national and sub-national data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry.