General - International - Economics - Research Guides at New York University

NYU-Licensed Access

CEIC Data
CEIC Data provides economic research on emerging and developed markets by economists around the globe. Users can navigate the data portal to create "insights," or data extracts on indicators associated with trade and economy.

Users are advised to register for an account with CEIC before creating data extracts. NYU users who navigate from the library page may access the resource by clicking "Guest login" on the resource homepage.
EIU Viewpoint
Economist Intelligence Unit's (EIU) country analysis and forecasts covers over 200 countries and highlight political, economic and business developments in all significant markets, both established and emerging. Includes access to the "CountryData" and "Market Indicators and Forecasts" modules.

For access to economic statistics, analysis, and forecasts for China's 31 provinces and 292 largest cities, click 'More' in the top right corner.
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)
Emerging Markets Information Service contains articles, news, financial filings for publicly held companies, and analyst reports in emerging countries in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe.

Requires NetID and password.

GlobalData - Macroeconomic Data
Please click on "IP Access" and then "Disruptor" to access database
Macroeconomic Data (under Database tab)includes global, country-level statistics on Economic, Demographic, Labor Force and Employment, Fiscal and Monetary Environment, and External Environment, by Economic Sector statistics of over 200 countries.

Passport
Euromonitor Passport (formerly GMID) provides international market intelligence, including economic statistics, on industries, countries, and consumers.

Requires Net ID and password.
Political Risk Yearbook and CountryData
Political Risk Yearbook provides political risk reports for the current year for many countries. CountryData allows users to generate exportable tables with political risk rankings and economic indicators for current and historical years, as well as current forecasts, for various countries.

Country Data is available on campus only. Use NYU VPN for off-campus access.
Statista
Statista aggregates data on markets, industry, politics, economics, and population. Users can export datasets in a variety of formats. Sources include trade publications, market and opinion research institutions, government sources, business and economic databases, reference publications, media sources, and scholarly articles. Include Statista's "Global Consumer Survey", which helps marketers understand consumer behavior and brand interaction.

OECD
OECD (formerly OECD iLibrary) is the online portal for the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. The OCED content includes book collections, policy reports, statistical abstracts, and the OECD.Stat tool, with which users can create custom extracts from the OECD data warehouse.

Economics Departments, Institutes and Research Centers in the World (EDIRC)
This section of this very useful resource contains a section on "Central Banks and Monetary Authorities." In all, EDIRC lists more than 12,000 sites.

IMF Data
IMF Data provides access to International financial statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS) database

Please sign up for an invididual log-in to download datasets and access certain features.

National Accounts Data
National Accounts Data are a comprehensive set of economic data that provide detailed information on the economic activities of a country. They are compiled using the System of National Accounts (SNA), which is an internationally agreed-upon standard set of recommendations on how to compile measures of economic activity.
Penn World Table version 10.01
The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries/territories for some or all of the years 1950-2010.
World Bank Open Data
Provides searchable portal for accessing World Bank 6,662 datasets, which include public expenditure, COVID-19, sustainable development, energy and etc.

UNdata
UNdata is the data download portal of the United Nations. Users can search by country, year, and indicator and create custom data extracts to download. UNData also includes an API that developers can use to query, display results externally, and download to local storage for further analysis. The data portal includes datasets from the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD), World Health Organization (WHO), and more.

Bank of Japan Statistics
This resource provides information on currency, financial markets, financial institutions accounts, payment and settlement and balance of payment from Japan.
Bank of Korea’s Economic Statistics System (ECOS)
Provides economic statistics on the Korean economy, like money & interest rates, national income, prices, balance of payments, business and consumer surveys, and financial statements.

CMIE Prowessdx
Prowessdx is the data extraction interface for the Prowess databases from CMIE (Centre for Monitoring Indian Economy,) including data for Indian companies extending back to 1990. It contains daily stock price data and fundamental data for both private and public companies in India, data on ownership and governance (board composition, meetings, major stakeholders, subsidiaries etc.) and data on mergers & acquisitions.

Users must create an individual account for access.

Europa World Yearbook
Provides profiles for over 250 countries and territories. Profiles provide political and economic information as well as statistics and information on religion, media and press, and more.
European Commission Economic databases
Access a variety of databases dealing with EU economic information, including indicators, indexes, and surveys.

Eurostat
Eurostat, the statistical office of the European Union, provides statistics at the European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Users can bulk download tables and access full metadata and documentation for data that measures indicators across a range of socio-demographic and economic indicators.

Groningen Growth and Development Centre (GGDC)
The Groningen Growth and Development Centre (GGDC) is a research institute affiliated with the Faculty of Economics and Business at the University of Groningen in the Netherlands. It is renowned for its key databases, including the Penn World Table (PWT), which offers internationally comparable data on relative levels of income, output, input, and productivity, and the Maddison Project Database, which provides historical data on economic performance, facilitating the study of long-term economic growth and development.

IndiaStat
IndiaStat provides access to statistics on health, higher education, agricultural and industrial production information, economic statistics, and tourism related data in India. The database also contains information bank and financial institutions, companies, co-operatives, crime and law, population, foreign trade, labour and workforce, housing, media, power, transport, urban-rural settlements, and economy.

To access this resource, click on Log-in, and then click IP address to authenticate. Access is limited to one user at a time.

Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)
The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) provides an extensive Open Data Catalog through its platform, "Numbers for Development," which offers over 1,700 multi-sectoral indicators from 26 countries across Latin America and the Caribbean.
Regional Statistics of Japan (e-Stat)
Major statistics of prefectures and municipalities in Japan. Time-series data can be downloadable.