Finding New York City Information

Govistics is a web-based tool for tracking state and local government and school district spending.

SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application with access to thousands of demographic, business, marketing, crime (Uniform Crime Report from the FBI) data variables that can be used to develop interactive thematic maps and export high-resolution images to word processing or presentation software. Individual registrations are required.

Collection highlights include vital records, census, and city directories that are an essential resource for patrons conducting family history research, the number one hobby in America. Records pertaining to the administration of criminal justice, dating from 1684 to 1966, constitute the largest and most comprehensive collection of such material in the English-speaking world. There are more than one million photographic images in fifty collections including pictures of every house and building in the city, ca. 1940. Legislative branch records date back to the first Dutch colonial government in New Amsterdam. Robert Moses’ papers document the city’s vast infrastructure from 1934 through 1959, and the records of mayoral administrations provide extensive information about every aspect of New York City from 1849 to the present.

City Wide Crime Statistics Weekly
Police Dept, City of New York
Office of Management Analysis, Crime Analysis

The report presents statistics on race and ethnicity compiled from the New York City Police Department’s records management system. Crime Complaint Reports contain information on the crime victims’ race and ethnicity as recorded by the officers or precinct clerical staff interviewing the victim or complainant. The Crime Complaint Report also contains the victim’s description of any non-arrested suspects. Arrests made by the responding or investigating officers are also recorded as part of the booking process and contain race and ethnicity information for the arrested suspects. Additional information for the report is drawn from a separate Homicide and Shooting Database that collects statistical information for Murder and Shooting incidents. Stop Question and Frisk data are taken from the New York City Police Department’s Stop Question and Frisk database. .

The tabular data presented here compiles reported crime and offense data recorded by the New York City Police Department from 2000 through 2010. Separate tables are presented for the Seven Major Felonies, Non-Seven Major Felony Crimes, Misdemeanors and Violations.

Washington, D.C. : U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, 2000.

Statistics and Resources: OCDV's Annual Fact Sheet includes data on family related homicides, Domestic Violence Hotline calls and other City services.

OCDV's Quarterly Fact Sheet includes the most current data on family related homicides, Domestic Violence Hotline calls and other City services.

Annual teen Dating Violence Fact Sheet includes data on dating violence prevalence, the New York City Healthy Relationship Training Academy, and the Relationship Abuse Prevention Program (RAPP).

The City of New York Resource Directory of Domestic Violence Services provides comprehensive information on services available to domestic violence victims throughout the five boroughs.

The Commission to Combat Police Corruption (CCPC) was created in 1995 as a permanent board to monitor and evaluate the anti-corruption programs, activities, commitment, and efforts of the New York City Police Department. The Commission is completely independent of the NYPD, and is presently comprised of six Commissioners appointed by the Mayor who advise a full time staff of attorneys

Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Includes digitized Annual Reports (Columbia University) from 1885

In February 2007, the New York City Police Department (NYPD) released statistics that indicated that more than a half-million pedestrians had been stopped on suspicion of a crime in New York City in 2006. Almost 90 percent of the stops involved nonwhites. The department immediately faced questions regarding its stop, question, and frisk (SQF) patterns and practices. The department contacted the RAND Center on Quality Policing (CQP) to conduct an objective analysis of data collected in street encounters between the police and the public, and the New York City Police Foundation funded a project that began later that month.

New York City’s “stop and frisk program” is a police strategy whereby pedestrian are briefly stopped by police officers, and potentially searched. The stop and frisk program has given rise to widespread allegations of racial profiling. The racial impact of the program has given rise to public protests and to much social activism, including even a dedicated activist website. The media have reported widely on this issue.

Members of the New York City Council and the New York State Legislature asked us to
determine how many hours New York City police officers have spent making hundreds of thousands of lowest‐level marijuana possession arrests. This is necessarily a range from lower to higher because the number of officers involved in a single arrest varies, and the time each spends varies considerably.

Since 2001, the New York City Police Department (NYPD) has established a secret surveillance program that has mapped, monitored and analyzed American Muslim daily life throughout New York City, and even its surrounding states. In 2011, the unveiling of this program by the Associated Press (AP) and other journalists who had obtained leaked internal NYPD documents led to an outcry from public officials, civil rights activists, American Muslim religious leaders, and members of the public. Protesters
and advocates held that such racial and religious profiling was not only an example of ineffective policing and wasteful spending of taxpayer dollars, but it also marginalized and criminalized a broad segment of American Muslims.

Floyd, et al. v. City of New York, et al. is a federal class action lawsuit filed against the New York City Police Department (NYPD) and the City of New York that challenges the NYPD's practices of racial profiling and unconstitutional stop-and frisks. These NYPD practices have led to a dramatic increase in the number of suspicion-less stop-and-frisks per year in the city, with the majority of stops in communities of color.

The NYPD performed a statistical analysis on a subset of these cases to identify common characteristics among active shooter attacks. This analysis is presented in Part III and the underlying methodology is presented in Part IV. The analysis found a large degree of variation among attacks across some broad categories, including: sex of the attacker, age of the attacker, number of attackers, planning tactics, targets, number of casualties, location of the attack, weapons used, and attack resolution. The analysis also provides insight into the frequency of active shooter attacks.

The aim of this report is to assist policymakers and law enforcement officials, both in
Washington and throughout the country, by providing a thorough understanding of the
kind of threat we face domestically. It also seeks to contribute to the debate among
intelligence and law enforcement agencies on how best to counter this emerging threat
by better understanding what constitutes the radicalization process.

This report of the Committee discusses the NYPD’s current policy on pepper spray, reviews the scientific literature on the effectiveness and health hazards of this substance, analyzes CCRB complaints in which officers were alleged to have used pepper spray, and formulates recommendations to the NYPD regarding its current policy on the use of pepper spray.

For the New York City Police Department (NYPD), every time a police officer’s weapon
is fired, except for circumstances when it is fired (or discharged) at a firing range, the
officer makes a report and the department undertakes an investigation to determine
the circumstances surrounding the incident. In early January 2007, New York City
Police Commissioner Raymond W. Kelly asked the RAND Corporation to undertake
an “objective, comprehensive assessment of the New York Police Department’s
(NYPD) firearms training and firearms discharge review process” (NYPD, 2007b).
This monograph recommends ways in which the NYPD can reduce firearm discharges
generally and inappropriate discharges in particular.

*New* Given that the NYPD has built an intelligence and counterterrorism capability more in line with the FBI than a traditional urban police force, it is time to build an oversight structure that is appropriate for its size and functions. An independent inspector general should be established for the NYPD.