Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Doctoral Programs: DNP & PhD

Guide to locating research evidence and tools to support the NYU Meyers College of Nursing DNP and PhD students.

Databases for Scholarly Articles

The evidence needed to answer specific, narrow research questions is most frequently located in the scholarly literature, which is indexed into the core health sciences databases.  While there is some overlap in the publications that are indexed in these databases, they each have a unique depth of coverage in particular topics.  As such, it is important that a comprehensive literature search includes multiple databases.  

For questions related to nursing and allied health, search CINAHL (Comprehensive Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature):

For questions that have a biomedical focus, search MEDLINE via PubMed:

For questions with psychosocial components, search PsycINFO. 

PsycINFO is available two platforms, Ovid and APA PscyNET:

Additional Databases

In addition to searching the core health sciences database, you might also find it useful to expand your search in other, multidisciplinary sources:

If your research has a component related to education or training programs, you may find it useful to search the education literature:

For a more complete list of health sciences databases, visit the Find Articles/Databases page.

Databases for Background Information

Background information can be found in a variety of sources, but especially those sources that would be considered secondary sources, like review articles, evidence summaries, point-of-care tools, reference sources and recently published textbooks.  

Consider the following databases if you are searching for background information in the health sciences.

For a complete list of databases that may provide helpful background information in the health sciences, see the Find Books/Syntheses/Background Info page.