SPSS Explained by
SPSS Explained provides the student with all that they need to undertake statistical analysis using SPSS. It combines a step-by-step approach to each procedure with easy to follow screenshots at each stage of the process. A number of other helpful features are provided: regular advice boxes with tips specific to each test explanations divided into 'essential' and 'advanced' sections to suit readers at different levels frequently asked questions at the end of each chapter. The first edition of this popular book has been fully updated for IBM SPSS version 21 and also includes: chapters that explain bootstrapping and how this is used an introduction to binary logistic regression coverage of new features such as Chart Builder. Presented in full colour and with a fresh, reader-friendly layout, this fully updated new edition also comes with a companion website featuring an array of supplementary resources for students. The authors have many years of experience in teaching SPSS to students from a wide range of disciplines. Their understanding of SPSS users' concerns, as well as a knowledge of the type of questions students ask, form the foundation of this book. Minimal prior knowledge is assumed, so the book is well designed for the novice user, but it will also be a useful reference source for those developing their own expertise in SPSS. It is suitable for all students who need to do statistical analysis using SPSS in various departments including Psychology, Social Science, Business Studies, Nursing, Education, Health and Sport Science, Communication and Media, Geography, and Biology.
Handbook of Univariate and Multivariate Data Analysis with IBM SPSS by
Using the same accessible, hands-on approach as its best-selling predecessor, the Handbook of Univariate and Multivariate Data Analysis with IBM SPSS, Second Edition explains how to apply statistical tests to experimental findings, identify the assumptions underlying the tests, and interpret the findings. This second edition now covers more topics and has been updated with the SPSS statistical package for Windows. New to the Second Edition Three new chapters on multiple discriminant analysis, logistic regression, and canonical correlation New section on how to deal with missing data Coverage of tests of assumptions, such as linearity, outliers, normality, homogeneity of variance-covariance matrices, and multicollinearity Discussions of the calculation of Type I error and the procedure for testing statistical significance between two correlation coefficients obtained from two samples Expanded coverage of factor analysis, path analysis (test of the mediation hypothesis), and structural equation modeling Suitable for both newcomers and seasoned researchers in the social sciences, the handbook offers a clear guide to selecting the right statistical test, executing a wide range of univariate and multivariate statistical tests via the Windows and syntax methods, and interpreting the output results. The SPSS syntax files used for executing the statistical tests can be found in the appendix. Data sets employed in the examples are available on the book's CRC Press web page.
Data Analysis in Management with SPSS Software by
This book provides readers with a greater understanding of a variety of statistical techniques along with the procedure to use the most popular statistical software package SPSS. It strengthens the intuitive understanding of the material, thereby increasing the ability to successfully analyze data in the future. The book provides more control in the analysis of data so that readers can apply the techniques to a broader spectrum of research problems. This book focuses on providing readers with the knowledge and skills needed to carry out research in management, humanities, social and behavioural sciences by using SPSS.
Introduction to Mediation, Moderation, and Conditional Process Analysis by
Explaining the fundamentals of mediation and moderation analysis, this engaging book also shows how to integrate the two using an innovative strategy known as conditional process analysis. Procedures are described for testing hypotheses about the mechanisms by which causal effects operate, the conditions under which they occur, and the moderation of mechanisms. Relying on the principles of ordinary least squares regression, Andrew Hayes carefully explains the estimation and interpretation of direct and indirect effects, probing and visualization of interactions, and testing of questions about moderated mediation. Examples using data from published studies illustrate how to conduct and report the analyses described in the book. Of special value, the book introduces and documents PROCESS, a macro for SPSS and SAS that does all the computations described in the book. The companion website (www.afhayes.com) offers free downloads of PROCESS plus data files for the book's examples. Unique features include: *Compelling examples (presumed media influence, sex discrimination in the workplace, and more) with real data; boxes with SAS, SPSS, and PROCESS code; and loads of tips, including how to report mediation, moderation and conditional process analyses. *Appendix that presents documentation on use and features of PROCESS. *Online supplement providing data, code, and syntax for the book's examples.
Multilevel and Longitudinal Modeling with IBM SPSS by
This book demonstrates how to use multilevel and longitudinal modeling techniques available in the IBM SPSS mixed-effects program (MIXED). Annotated screen shots provide readers with a step-by-step understanding of each technique and navigating the program. Readers learn how to set up, run, and interpret a variety of models. Diagnostic tools, data management issues, and related graphics are introduced throughout. Annotated syntax is also available for those who prefer this approach. Extended examples illustrate the logic of model development to show readers the rationale of the research questions and the steps around which the analyses are structured. The data used in the text and syntax examples are available at www.routledge.com/9780415817110.　　 　 Highlights of the new edition include: Updated throughout to reflect IBM SPSS Version 21. Further coverage of growth trajectories, coding time-related variables, covariance structures, individual change and longitudinal experimental designs (Ch.5). Extended discussion of other types of research designs for examining change (e.g., regression discontinuity, quasi-experimental) over time (Ch.6). New examples specifying multiple latent constructs and parallel growth processes (Ch. 7). Discussion of alternatives for dealing with missing data and　the use of sample weights within multilevel data structures (Ch.1). The book opens with the conceptual and methodological issues associated with multilevel and longitudinal modeling, followed by a discussion of SPSS data management techniques which facilitate working with multilevel, longitudinal, and cross-classified data sets. Chapters 3 and 4 introduce the basics of multilevel modeling: developing a multilevel model, interpreting output, and trouble-shooting common programming and modeling problems. Models for investigating individual and organizational change are presented in chapters 5 and 6, followed by models with multivariate outcomes in chapter 7. Chapter 8 provides an illustration of multilevel models with cross-classified data structures. The book concludes with ways to expand on the various multilevel and longitudinal modeling techniques and issues when conducting multilevel analyses. 　 Ideal as a supplementary text for graduate courses on multilevel and longitudinal modeling, multivariate statistics, and research design taught in education, psychology, business, and sociology, this book's practical approach also appeals to researchers in these fields. The book provides an excellent supplement to Heck & Thomas's An Introduction to Multilevel Modeling Techniques, 2nd Edition; however, it can also be used with any multilevel and/or longitudinal modeling book or as a stand-alone text.
Multilevel Modeling of Categorical Outcomes Using IBM SPSS by
This is the first workbook that introduces the multilevel approach to modeling with categorical outcomes using IBM SPSS Version 20. Readers learn how to develop, estimate, and interpret multilevel models with categorical outcomes. The authors walk readers through data management, diagnostic tools, model conceptualization, and model specification issues related to single-level and multilevel models with categorical outcomes. Screen shots clearly demonstrate techniques and navigation of the program. Modeling syntax is provided in the appendix.nbsp; Examples of various types of categorical outcomes demonstrate how to set up each model and interpret the output. Extended examples illustrate the logic of model development, interpretation of output, the context of the research questions, and the steps around which the analyses are structured. Readers can replicate examples in each chapter by using the corresponding data and syntax files available at www.psypress.com/9781848729568. The book opens with a review of multilevel with categorical outcomes, followed by a chapter on IBM SPSS data management techniques to facilitate working with multilevel and longitudinal data sets. Chapters 3 and 4 detail the basics of the single-level and multilevel generalized linear model for various types of categorical outcomes. These chapters review underlying concepts to assist with trouble-shooting common programming and modeling problems. Next population-average and unit-specific longitudinal models for investigating individual or organizational developmental processes are developed. Chapter 6 focuses on single- and multilevel models using multinomial and ordinal data followed by a chapter on models for count data. The book concludes with additional trouble shooting techniques and tips for expanding on the modeling techniques introduced. Ideal as a supplement for graduate level courses and/or professional workshops on multilevel, longitudinal, latent variable modeling, multivariate statistics, and/or advanced quantitative techniques taught in psychology, business, education, health, and sociology, this practical workbook also appeals to researchers in these fields. An excellent follow up to the authors' highly successful Multilevel and Longitudinal Modeling with IBM SPSS and Introduction to Multilevel Modeling Techniques, 2nd Edition, this book can also be used with any multilevel and/or longitudinal book or as a stand-alone text introducing multilevel modeling with categorical outcomes.
