Skip to Main Content

Political Science

This guide will point you to the best places to find books, articles and other sources of information for your Political Science courses.

American Law & Government - Introduction

When conducting U.S. government and legal research it is important to understand the basics of how the government is organized. This will help you determine which resources to choose in order to locate particular documentation. 

The Constitution of the United States divides the federal government into three branches:

  1. Legislative – Makes laws (Congress)
  2. Executive – Carries out laws (President, Vice President, Cabinet)
  3. Judicial – Evaluates and interprets laws (Supreme Court and other courts)

The compilation of websites and databases listed in this section will lead you to U.S. government documents and other information available free online and through NYU subscription. Use the left navigation bar to link to more specific legislative, executive, and judicial resources.

Main Sources of U.S. Government Documents