Skip to main content

East Asian Studies: Premodern China

This guide provides access to key resources for East Asian Studies at NYU and elsewhere.

From Academia Sinica

Grand Secretariat ArchivesThis database from Academia Sinica contains more than 300,000 documents from the Ming dynasty to the late Qing dynasty.

Scripta Sinica: Also from Academia Sinica, this is one of the largest full-text databases for the study of pre-modern China, including about 500 multi-volume histories, such as Ming Shi Lu, Qing Shi Lu, etc.

Contact the East Asian Studies librarian for logon instructions and/or a user guide.

Database of Ch'ing Palace Memorials and Archives of the Grand Council 清代宮中檔奏摺及軍機處檔摺件全文影像資料庫

This resource provides metadata searching and full image reproduction of Qing dynasty archival materials held at the National Palace Museum in Taiwan. Searchable fields includes the document number, document date, author, official position, topic, keyword, date of response, and response. Contact the East Asian Studies librarian for logon instructions.

Siku Quanshu 文淵閣四庫全書電子

Note: This program will only work in Microsoft Windows!

The Siku Quanshu database, compiled in 1773-1782 by edict from Emperor Qianlong, contains 3,460 works on topics including history, politics, economics, and more.

The database is installed on three computers in Bobst Library: computers PS1-04, PS1-05, PS1-06 near the printers. Once you open Siku Quanshu, click on Login through authorized IP address (no ID required).

If you are using this off-campus, or on your own laptop on campus, you will need to configure your Internet Explorer web browser manually to use the New York University proxy server.  Instructions to configure your browser can be found here. Because of the large number of variant character forms, in order to use the database, you must first install the client program.  You can download the client here.  You can also download the installation guide, in English简体中文, or 繁體中文.  There is also a Chinese-language user manual available in traditional characters.

Once you have installed the program, and have configured your browser, run it from the Windows Start menu, and select "IP address" to connect to the database.

Erudition 方志库

Erudition 方志库
Chinese Local Records: The Fang zhi ku is an e-book collection and a searchable database of Chinese local gazetteers.  The collection has 2,000 titles of rare and special edition local gazetteers printed in China from ancient times up to 1949. Once you've reached the Erudition login page, select "愛如生古籍數據庫" and click "Login."  There's no need to enter a username or password. After selecting "中國方志庫" from the next page, use the "合集" link to access our subscription. 

Chinese Classic Ancient Books: This database currently includes 10,000 titles in 12,500 editions from the pre-Qin period through the Republican period. All texts are provided in full text and image format.

CHANT 漢達文庫

CHinese ANcient Texts (CHANT) databases include six browsable and searchable databases of traditional ancient Chinese texts from the Pre-Han (pre 220 AD) up to the Six Dynasties (581 AD).
For information in English about CHANT, see "CHANT (CHinese ANcient Texts): a comprehensive database of all ancient Chinese texts up to 600 AD"

NOTE: Due to the suspension of electricity supply, the CHANT Database will be suspended from 6:00pm HKT 25 October to 9:00am HKT 26 October, 2016.