Skip to Main Content

East Asian Studies

This guide provides access to key resources for East Asian Studies at NYU and elsewhere.

Database news

The Cybersecurity Administration of China (CAC) has recently imposed new oversight requirements on Chinese publishers and exporters of information. As of April 1, 2023, The CAC will now require Chinese publishers to temporarily suspend access to full-text downloads of these content types,

- DISSERTATIONS
- PATENTS
- STATISTICS
- CONFERENCE PROCEEDINGS

Academic journals, newspapers, and numerous other content types are NOT being impacted. For a complete map of content availability, please visit https://www.eastview.com/chinese_regulatory_actions_impact_map/. The suspension will take effect on March 31, 2023 12:00 pm Eastern Time, corresponding to the action occurring April 1 in the People’s Republic of China.

Chinese Language Databases (Subscription) at NYU

Taida Journal of Art History / 臺灣學術期刊開放取用平台
Journal of the Department of Art History at National Taiwan University - now fully accessible online: 
https://toaj.stpi.narl.org.tw/index/journal/4b1141f97ce46933017ce469b64100ab

 

 

Open Access Chinese Databases

Caixin Chinese / 财新网 (see English language databases below for English access)

C-text / Chinese Text Project
online open-access digital library that makes pre-modern Chinese texts available (over 30,000 titles) to readers around the world. To use, please set up an individual subscription.

Early Chinese Periodicals Online (ECPO, 1897-1953), University of Heidelberg.
This is a new Open Access resource and has features that are not yet complete. Content is freely available, no login is required. Topics include film, literature, gender, religion, medicine, fashion, politics, family life and more. For a list of periodical titles, or a user guide, please email the EA Studies librarian.

Jiefangjun Bao (PLA Daily)
Jiefangjun Bao, the PLA Daily, is the authoritative media of the Chinese People’s Liberation Army (PLA) used to release military news and comprehensive military-related information and is the official newspaper of the Central Military Commission.

Ming Qing Women's Writings Digital Archive and Database Project, McGill Library
This project is dedicated to the digitization of collections of writings by women in late imperial China (1368-1911) - Ming (1368-1644) and Qing (1644-1911) periods. It includes a link for each writer to the China Biographical Database hosted at Harvard University. Search by chronological range of publications, types of publications (poetry, prose, etc.), and browse by many options (collections by library, year, type, or indexes by names, gender, ethnic groups, marital status, and more).

National Palace Museum Art Journals
Gugong Wen Wu Yue Kan / 文物月刊
https://bobcat.library.nyu.edu/primo-explore/fulldisplay?docid=nyu_aleph003713932&vid=NYU&search_scope=all&tab=all&lang=en_US&context=L
Gugong Xue Shu Ji Kan / 學術季刊
https://bobcat.library.nyu.edu/primo-explore/fulldisplay?docid=nyu_aleph001913049&vid=NYU&search_scope=all&tab=all&lang=en_US&context=L

NYUSH China Datasets Archive
The Datasets page is led by NYUSH Center for Data Science and Analytics, and created in collaboration with NYUSH Library.
Https://persistent.library.nyu.edu/arch/NYU06067

Open Access (OA) Online-First Publishing of Research Papers on COVID-19 
Scholarly journal articles on the topic of COVID-19 (many of which we already have available in CAJ). When you find something you want to read here, you can copy and paste the article information into the China Academic Journals (CAJ) database. 

English Language Databases (Subscription) at NYU that include China and Asia